Plus Five

So you’re ready for more hand-lettering resources? Not coincidentally, today’s post has five more for you to consider. Let’s get right to them.

  1. As you explore Web sites and read recommendations from letterers, you are going to see several references to Creative Lettering and Beyond: Inspiring tips, techniques, and ideas for hand lettering your way to beautiful works of art. All I’ll say is get this book. You’ll learn basic calligraphy, get lists of indispensable tools, and of course, learn a few styles of lettering, including chalk and illustrated.
  2. Speaking of calligraphy, one of my favorite resources has been the local calligraphic society. The Edmonton Calligraphic Society not only leads calligraphy lessons, they also host lettering classes. I’m taking several that I’ve learned of through the society. After you’ve checked out your local society, be sure to visit the Web sites for your local art shops; much of their business comes from hosting classes that help them sell their products.
  3. One word: Instagram. If you’re not already participating, get on it. Follow everyone and anyone that inspires you, teaches you, or surprises you. Or just follow me. Haha! Once you have a feel for Instagram, start participating in challenges. I’m participating in three this month: #dndchallenge, led by Dawn Nicole Designs; Caroline Kelso’s #betterletteringcourse; and #surelysimplelettering, hosted by Surely Simple Blog. My pieces are pretty rudimentary, sometimes kind of awful, but I know the daily practice will make me stronger.
  4. Today’s featured image is one of the logos for Skillshare, a learning/teaching Web site. I’m currently registered in dozens of hand-lettering classes, including Andrea Campos’ Fundamentals for Drawing Letters, Waterbrush Lettering Essentials by Teela Cunningham, and The First Steps of Hand-Lettering: Concept to Sketch (Lettering I), from Mary Kate McDevitt, to name just three. Skillshare’s Premium Membership costs either $9.95 per month or $96 per year. If you’d like to try a month for free, just email me at lillian.wight@gmail.com and I’ll refer you.
  5. Hand-lettering on its own is appealing and beautiful, but most of us eventually want to embellish our work. The Poppy & Mint Design blog is just one resource to take us along that path. Molly is adventurous, talented, and generous with her skills. She teaches frequently via Periscope and posts her videos on her blog for future reference. Following her on Instagram is a no-brainer.

Once again, please let me know if any of my links are broken. And remember: if you have your own resource recommendations I would be thrilled to hear about them.

Happy lettering!

Leave a Reply

